Leviticus 11, verse 7 forbids consuming pork because “though it has a split hoof completely divided, [the pig] does not chew the cud.” Kosher dietary rules (“kashrut”) prohibit eating meat from animals that don’t meat meet two criteria: 1) the animals’ hooves must be completely divided or “cloven” and 2) the animals must chew their own cud. Unfortunately for Jews who keep kosher, the pig–like the far less delicious rock badger, which is deemed off limits in Leviticus 11:5–does not chew its own cud.
While Leviticus 11:7 is the biggie, other kosher rules also seek to prevent Jews’ enjoyment of barbecue. Notably, the requirement to remove the blood of the animal before eating it (either by draining it or broiling it out) could pose some problems. On the other hand, slow-cooking over coals for 10+ hours might be as good as broiling, at least in our opinion. We certainly know you’d be unwise to broil a hog. Finally, the kosher prohibition of mixing meat and dairy would be problematic for those who like their ‘que served with a side of mac ‘n’ cheese.
As for us, at the risk of revealing that we occasionally indulge in some treif food, we tend to think that strictly following thousands of years old dietary laws is a wee bit silly. But we are thankful that our ancestors never tasted rock badger.